About the AAROM Hub

Overview

The AAROM Hub is a platform to promote and showcase the independent Indigenous organizations’ skills and expertise, throughout Canada, who are recipients of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO)’s Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management (AAROM) program. The AAROM program supports core staff and administrative services that provide Indigenous organizations a foundation to build technical capacity in aquatic resource and oceans management. It has enabled Indigenous organizations to leverage funds from other sources (e.g. other Government programs, not-for-profits, industry, charitable donations) to build technical capacity and partnerships. In many cases, these AAROM departments (see description below) are the “go-to” organization for their member communities to provide technical and advisory services regarding aquatic resource and oceans management.

AAROM departments

The term “AAROM department” was developed to describe these independent Indigenous organizations as a short hand to promote and market the larger network and the organizational skills and expertise they provide both to their member communities as well as other partners. However, it is important to note that there is no “one-size-fits-all” approach and that each AAROM department has their own unique brand and provides different services and expertise based on the needs and desire of their member communities. Many of these organizations also pre-existed the AAROM program and have used it to further expand their services and expertise in aquatic resource and oceans management. For example, some AAROM departments are part of a Tribal Council or Chiefs organization, whereas others are stand-along organizations.

To learn more about the unique skills and services each AAROM department please see their individual page on our AAROM department Profiles page

Types of AAROM departments

There are three different types of AAROM departments, which are classified based on the various types of activities undertaken by their organization. Each type of AAROM department strengthens the overall AAROM network by providing unique perspectives, services and expertise. For a list and description of the different types of AAROM departments, see the table below. It is worth noting that the activities of some AAROM departments may overlap more than one category.

Watershed

Technical collective groups with biologists, field technicians and other expertise who regularly engage in stock assessments, research projects, and other studies to gain specific data and knowledge for their member communities. Many also run youth education and outreach programs to help build capacity in their member communities to pursue careers in environmental science and management.

Technical Advisory

Targeted capacity to coordinate technical work conducted by community members and/or facilitate the exchange of fisheries and resource management information through specific Tier 1 and Tier 2 forums* (Pacific region only and in some cases some crossover with watershed activities).

National/Regional

Provide large-scale coordination and technical function at a national and/or regional level to enable broad achievements and promote the exchange of information and best practices between AAROM departments.

*In British Columbia, there are three tiers or levels of engagement, which classified as:

  • Tier 1 forum between First Nations
  • Tier 2 forum between First Nations and Government
  • Tier 3 is between First nations, Government, and other interests.

All right reserved AAROM – Developed by CDG Développeur

À propos du Carrefour PAGRAO

Aperçu

Le Carrefour PAGRAO est une plateforme visant à promouvoir et à mettre en valeur les compétences et l’expertise des organisations autochtones indépendantes, partout au Canada, qui sont bénéficiaires du Programme autochtone de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques (PAGRAO) de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO). Le PAGRAO appuie le personnel de base et les services administratifs qui fournissent aux organisations autochtones une base sur laquelle s’appuyer pour renforcer la capacité technique en gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques. Il a permis aux organisations autochtones d’obtenir des fonds d’autres sources (p. ex. d’autres programmes gouvernementaux, des organismes sans but lucratif, l’industrie, des dons de bienfaisance) pour renforcer leur capacité technique et leurs partenariats. Dans bien des cas, les agences du PAGRAO (voir la description ci-dessous) sont l’organisation « à laquelle s’adresser » pour que leurs collectivités membres fournissent des services techniques et consultatifs en matière de gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques.

Agences du PAGRAO

L’appellation « agence du PAGRAO » a été retenue pour décrire de manière abrégée ces organisations autochtones indépendantes afin de promouvoir et de faire connaître le réseau dans son ensemble ainsi que les compétences organisationnelles et l’expertise qu’elles offrent tant à leurs collectivités membres qu’à leurs autres partenaires. Il convient toutefois de noter qu’il n’existe pas d’approche « unique » et que chaque agence du PAGRAO a sa propre marque et offre différents services et types d’expertise, selon les besoins et le désir de ses collectivités membres. Bon nombre de ces organisations existaient également avant le PAGRAO et ont recouru à ce dernier pour accroître plus encore leurs services et leur expertise en gestion des ressources aquatiques et océaniques. Par exemple, certaines agences du PAGRAO font partie d’un conseil tribal ou d’une organisation des chefs, tandis que d’autres sont des organisations autonomes.

Pour en savoir plus sur les compétences et les services uniques de chaque agence du PAGRAO, veuillez consulter la page de chacune d’elle sur notre page Profils des agences du PAGRAO 

Types d’agences du PAGRAO

Il existe trois différents types d’agences du PAGRAO, qui sont classées en fonction des divers types d’activités entreprises par leur organisation. Chaque type d’agence du PAGRAO renforce l’ensemble du réseau du PAGRAO en offrant des points de vue, des services et une expertise uniques. Le tableau ci-dessous comprend une liste et une description des différents types d’agences du PAGRAO. Il convient de préciser que les activités de certaines agences du PAGRAO peuvent correspondre à plus d’une catégorie. 

Bassin hydrographique

Groupes collectifs et techniques comptant des biologistes, des techniciens sur le terrain et d’autres spécialistes qui effectuent régulièrement des évaluations des stocks, des projets de recherche et d’autres études pour obtenir des données et des connaissances précises pour leurs collectivités membres. Bon nombre offrent également des programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation des jeunes pour aider à renforcer la capacité, dans leurs collectivités membres, à poursuivre des carrières en sciences et en gestion de l’environnement.

Technique et consultative

Capacité ciblée de coordonner le travail technique effectué par les membres de la collectivité ou de faciliter l’échange d’information sur la gestion des pêches et des ressources au moyen de forums* cibles de niveau 1 et de niveau 2 (Région du Pacifique seulement et, dans certains cas, recoupement avec les activités de la catégorie du bassin hydrographique).

Nationale et régionale

Exercer une fonction technique et de coordination à grande échelle sur le plan national ou régional, afin de permettre de grandes réalisations et de promouvoir l’échange d’information et de pratiques exemplaires entre les agences du PAGRAO.

* En Colombie-Britannique, il y a trois niveaux de mobilisation, qui sont classés comme suit :

  • Forum de niveau 1 entre les Premières Nations
  • Forum de niveau 2 entre les Premières Nations et le gouvernement
  • Forum de niveau 3 entre les Premières Nations, le gouvernement et d’autres groupes d’intérêt.

Tous droits réservés PAGRAO - Développé par CDG Développeur